SAMA 18 – night one winners list

SAMA fever is here. The festivities kicked off at the Sun City complex earlier this evening. While this part of the awards wasn’t televised, it definitely was spectacular. The guests were treated to performances from the legendary stars Vusi Mahlasela and Ray Phiri, as well as performances from Lira, Selaeto Selota, Loyiso Bala & LLoyd Cele among many others. I’ll bring you more on my thoughts from the evening tomorrow, but for now here is the list of winners:

Best Producer

Dan Roberts – Six Winters by Laurie Levine

Best Engineer

Johan van der Colff – Loliwe by Zahara

Best Video of the Year

Ryan Peimer – It’s Magic by The Parlotones

Best Live DVD

Simphiwe Dana – An Evening with Simphiwe Dana (Live in Concert)

Remix of the Year

DJ Sbu – Lengoma featuring Zahara

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Ray Phiri and Vusi Mahlasela

Best Selling True-Tone Download of the Year

Facebook by DJ Cleo

Best Selling Ring-Back-Tone of the Year

Facebook by DJ Cleo

Best Selling Full-Track Download of the Year

Loliwe by Zahara

Most Played Song on South African Radio in 2011

Alone by Liquiddeep


Author: Jason Von Berg

Digital content marketer. Mobile App Editor. Entertainment, travel and New York City lover. #Triathlete, #Ironman, health and wellness advocate, @Futurelifeza ambassador

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s