All the 2014 SAFTA winners

So the SAFTAs happened at the weekend… I must admit for what is supposed to be a glitzy, glamorous and highly credited awards ceremony, I’m extremely disappointed in the PR team/ organisers. I’ve attended the awards once in my career. The reason I’ve only been once is because I’ve only been invited once. In the years after that I’ve expressed my interest in attending the awards, let alone getting access to a simple press release and yet I’ve heard nothing. It’s extremely disappointing and to the PR team, you really aren’t doing a very good job at marketing the awards. A lot of people didn’t even know it was on. Alas, it was and I saw some of the winner’s names on the social networks…. Probably more entertaining to watch it unfold on social anyway. Rant done. If you, like me, missed the awards, here’s a look at who won big at this year’s South African Film and Television Awards:



Best Editor of a Documentary Short
Alexander Melck – Waterborne

Best Editor of a Documentary Feature
Riaan Hendricks , The Devil’s Lair

Best Documentary Feature
The Devil’s Lair Fireworx Media


Best supporting actor in a TV drama
Akhumzi Jezile as “Ngulube” Tempy Pushas

Best supporting actress in A TV Drama
Harriet Manamela as “Meike Maputla” Skeem Saam

Best actor in a TV Drama
Siyabonga Thwala as “Musa” Intersexions : Season 2

Best actress in a TV Drama
Tina Jaxa as “Nokuthula” Intersexions : Season 2

Best writing team TV Drama
Room 9

Best director TV Drama
Libby Dougherty & Tebogo Malope – Tempy Pushas

Best TV drama

Best DOP/ Cinematographer of a TV drama
Intersexions: Season 2 – Tom Marias

Best editor of a TV drama 
Jack Esterhuizen and Lindi Goosen, Room 9

Best production design of a TV drama
Anneri  Gericke

Best make-up and hair of a TV drama
Jenny Sprawson, High RollersBest director TV Drama

Best TV drama


Best Writing Team TV Soap

Best Director TV soap
Adze Ugah & Denny Miller Isibaya

Best ensemble TV soap

Best actor TV Soap
Siyabonga Thwala as “Mpiyakhe Zungu” Isibaya

Best actress TV soap
Thembi Nyandeni as “Mkabayi Zungu” Isibaya

Best editor in a TV soap
Editing Team, The Wild

Best art direction of a TV soap
Annerie Gericke, The Wild

Best TV soap (public vote)
7de Laan


Best Actor in a TV Comedy
Obed Baloyi as “Tsutsuman” Ga Re Dumele

Best Actress in a TV Comedy
Tsholo Monedi as “Tiny” Skwizas Season 2

Best Comedy Ensemble
Late night news

Best TV Comedy
ZA News

Best Writing Team of a TV Comedy
ZA News

Best Director of a TV Comedy
Aaron Naidoo and Thierry Cassuto, ZA News

Best art direction of a TV comedy
Amanda Scholtz, Those who can’t


Best Director of a Wildlife Programme
Craig & Damon Foster – Touching The Dragon

Best Editor of a Wildlife Programme
Keith Fraser – Speed Kills: Savannah

Best Cinematographer of a Wildlife Programme
DOP team – Speed Kills: Savannah

Best TV Wildlife Programme
Touching the Dragon – NHU Africa

Other categories:
Best Youth & Children Programme
Big Up

Best News & Actuality Programme
Carte Blanche

Best Variety Programme

Best Music Show
Jam Sandwich

Best Talk Show 
Life with Thami

Best Reality Show
Around Iceland on Inspiration

Best International Format Reality Show
Taboo Africa

Best Writer made for TV movie
Writing team – Inside Story

Best Director made for TV movie
Rolisizwe Nikiwe for Inside Story


Best Director of a Feature Film
Jahmil X.T. Qubeka Of Good Report

Best Actor in a Feature Film
Mothusi Magano as “Parker Sithole” Of Good Report

Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film
Tshamano Sebe ss “Vuyani” Of Good report

Best Actress in a Feature Film
Antoinette Louw as “Elle Winter” Die Laaste Tango

Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film
Tina Jaxa as “Head Mistress” Of Good Report

Best Writing Team of a Feature Film
Jahmil X.T. Qubeka Of Good Report

Best Feature Film
Of Good Report Spier Films

Best Editor of a Feature Film
Che Amaru Tunstead & Cobus Rossouw, Of Good Report

Best Production Designer of a Feature Film
Johnny Breedt, Long Walk to Freedom

Best Music Composition of a Feature Film
Bruce Retief, Khumba

Best Make up and hair for a Feature Film
Meg Tanner for Long Walk to Freedom

Best Sound Designer of a Feature Film
Jim Petrak, Nothing for Mahala

Best Student Film
KanyeKanye, AFDA Film School

Best Short Film
Atomic Squid Production, Armed Response

Best DOP/cinematographer of a feature film
Willie Nel, Sleepers Wake

Best Animation

Lifetime Achievement Award
Abigail Kubeka

Author: Jason Von Berg

Digital content marketer. Mobile App Editor. Entertainment, travel and New York City lover. #Triathlete, #Ironman, health and wellness advocate, @Futurelifeza ambassador

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s