Blackbyrd to open for Mike and the Mechanics

Attention Capetonians: SAMA nominees, Blackybyrd will be opening for English rockers, Mike and the Mechanics later this month. The news dropped earlier. The all-girl band made up of Tarryn Lamb, Tamsyn Maker and Axene Chaberski-Loubser have enjoyed a lot of success on radio charts around the country, and now they’ve been given the chance to open up for the legendary band in just under two weeks. The gig is taking place at the Grand Arena in Cape Town on the 20th of August.

Tickets are available from Computicket and prices start at R285.

Jozi peops, they are two opportunities for you to see them. One on the 17th in Sun City (love the SuperBowl) and then on the 18th at Carnival City (personally I’d rather go to Sun City if Imma drive all that way, #justsaying).

I reckon this will be quite a cool gig. Over my Shoulder is a classic track that I still adore, so why not kickstart this Monday with a little bit of Mike and the Mechanics then:

MTN SAMA 19 – First list of winners for 2013

Riot, Zahara
The 19th edition of the South African Music Awards (SAMAs) has arrived. The technical, non-broadcast or as host for the evening Tumi Morake said, the Tumi Show awards, were held in the Sun City resort on Friday evening. Some of the big nominees were in attendance, as were sponsors, media and other invited guests.

I was there tweeting, instagraming and filming (footage to follow soon). It was a lovely evening and this part of the awards weekend is always so enjoyable. It’s a nice way to ease into the festivities and it’s good to catch up with some of the nominees and winners. Here is a list of the winners from tonight:

Lifetime Achievement Awards – Presented by Ray Phiri & Vusi Mahlasela
Johannes Kerkorrel (posthumously)
Sizwe Zako
Dr Thomas Chauke

• Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album
Khaya – For You

• Best Alternative Album
iScream & The Chocolate Stix – The Paradox

• Best Classic & Instrumental Album
CH2 CH 2 Guitar Duo Live with the University of Pretoria Symphony – Orchestra

• Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Ntokozo Mbambo – Filled

• Best Producer
Jax Panik for Due Drop Deluxe (Toya Delazy)

• Best Engineer
Mark Beling for Strong (BlackByrd)

• Best Music Video of the Year
Claudio Pavan for Honey Spiders – (The Parlotones)

• Remix of the Year
DJ Kent for Thinking about You Ft. Zonke DJ Kent Remix (Theo Kgosinkwe)

• Best Live DVD
The Captured Tour Concert Film – Lira

Dr Thomas Chauke

• Best Selling DVD
Vol. 16 Live at Carnival City – Joyous Celebration

• Best Selling Album
Roeper – Theuns Jordaan

• Best Selling Tru-Tone
Follow Me – DJ Cleo ft. Teddy Bears

• Best Selling Ring-Back-Tone
Loliwe – Zahara

• Best Selling Full-Track Download
You’re The Voice- Shout/J23 – Artists for a safer South Africa

Heavenly Sent – Mi Casa

Dr MalingaDr Malinga’s outfit deserves a mention (you decide whether it’s winning or not) but it had a lot of people talking… So I thought I should share the pic too.

Pics taken on my iPhone 5