Darren Scott resigns from Jacaranda following racial slur

One of South Africa’s most celebrated broadcasters Darren Scott has resigned from Jacaranda, 94.2 FM. The Just Plain Breakfast host tendered his resignation yesterday following a racial slur at a station event at the weekend. In an interview with 702’s John Robbie this morning, Scott described the events that unfolded at the weekend.

Listen to the full interview here.

After a team building workshop, which involved alcohol, Darren dropped the terrible k-word. He told Robbie that he was embarrassed for using the word and that he’d apologised to the person in question. Newspaper Beeld ran an article on this issue and according to Darren, the journalist only printed one side of the story and not his. As you can imagine this has become a trending topic on Twitter with loads of mixed reactions to the issue.

For me, I’m saddened by an incident like this. Darren Scott is one of the best broadcasters in this country. In addition to his work on radio, which I’ve respected for a very long time, he has been a key player in taking SuperSport‘s rugby content to world class standards. What he and his fellow colleagues have achieved to date is quite remarkable and that has set the bar really high. Having said all of that, there is no place for racial slurs like that in our country. South Africa is so racially sensitive and for him to say something like this really sets us back a lot. This comes as the IRB Rugby World Cup is set to kick-off tomorrow. All the hard work to get the nation, (Black, White, Indian, Coloured) all united and ready to support the Springboks seems to have been sidelined now by an incident like this. I do no condone behavior like this but there needs to be consistency. There have been several others issues with several other parties this year and we’ve forgiven them. How do we proceed from here? Is it time we start talking about the elephant in the room? Racism clearly is still rife in South Africa, maybe as responsible citizens it’s time to discuss this matter head on now.


Read Darren’s response to Beed’s article and his account of what ensued below: Continue reading “Darren Scott resigns from Jacaranda following racial slur”

MTN Radio Awards: Full list of winners

The 2011 MTN Radio Awards took place in Sandton over the weekend. These awards honour the best in radio broadcasting both on air and behind the scenes. Over 600 people were at the venue to see who rules the airwaves. Find a detailed list of winners below:



Content Producer – Non-Commercial – Zandile Tembe – Ukhozi FM
Daytime Presenter – Thato “DJ Fresh” Sikwane – 5FM
Daytime show – Commercial – Guy Mc Donald Afternoon Drive Show – Good Hope FM
Daytime show – Non-Commercial – Butterfly Corner – Radio Islam
Drama Programme – No Place for You – SAfm
Music Presenter – T Bose – Kaya FM 95.9
Music Show – The Homebrew Show – 94.7 Highveld Stereo and 94.5 K-fm


News and Actuality Presenter – Chris Gibbons – 567 CapeTalk and Talk Radio 702
News and Actuality Producer – Anisa Ussuph – East Coast Radio
News and Actuality Show – Today with John Perlman – Kaya FM 95.9
News Bulletin Reader – Stephen Grootes – Talk Radio 702
Night-time Presenter – Rob Vember – 5FM
Night-time Show – Commercial – The Dr. Eve Show – Gagasi 99.5FM
Night-time Show – Non-Commercial – Langarm and Nama Show – Radio Riverside 98.2FM
Breakfast Show – Commercial – Just Plain Breakfast – Jacaranda 94.2
Breakfast Show  – Non-Commercial – The Super Fantastic Show – Radio 2000
Breakfast Show Presenter – John Robbie – Talk Radio 702
Business and Finance Presenter – Bruce Whitfield – Talk Radio 702
Business and Finance Show – Talk @ 6 – Talk Radio 702
Community Presenter – “Delite” – Anthony T Ngcezula – Bay FM 107.9
Community Project – United we shall stand for Bafana Bafana – Primedia Broadcasting
Content Producer – Commercial – William Scott – Jacaranda 94.2
On Air Packaging – World Cup 2010 – 94.7 Highveld Stereo
Promotion/Stunt/Event – Commercial – United we shall stand for Bafana Bafana – Primedia Broadcasting
Promotion/Stunt/Event – Non-Commercial – VIP Treasure Hunt – East Rand Stereo
Sports Commentator – Masedi Simon Ramafalo – Thobela FM
Sports Presenter – Cindy Poluta – Talk Radio 702
Sports Show – Discovery Sports Centre – Metro FM
Traffic Presenter – Aki Anastasiou – Talk Radio 702
Wits Radio Academy Bursary Winner – Nontokozo Ngcobo
Young achiever Award (sponsored by Cresta Hotels and Air Botswana) – Smangele Mbatha – Gagasi 99.5FM
Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Bairds Renaissance) – Issie Kirsh
2011 Induction into the Hall of Fame – Alexius Buthelezi, Max Mojapelo, Fanus Rautenbach, Ismail Variava, Shado Twala, Tim Modise, Eric Eagan, Koos Radebe and Alex Jay
My Station Award – Radio Islam
MTN Community Radio Station of the Year (sponsored by The Media Connection)– Radio Islam

Well done to the all the winners. I went to varsity with Rob and it’s so awesome to see a friend and now industry colleague doing so well. Also well done to Darren Scott, DJ Fresh, T-Bose from Kaya FM and all the winners from the Primedia stable. You all deserve these awards and you all make radio entertaining, informative, educational and enjoyable. Well done!