MasterChef SA, Late Nite with Loyiso Gola nominated for Emmys

We love a good story, don’t we? Well as South Africans we can be super proud of two of our television productions. MasterChef South Africa and Late Night with Loyiso Gola have both been nominated for International Emmys. MasterChef was nominated in the Non-Scripted Entertainment category, while Loyiso’s show was nominated in the Comedy category. Fantastic news and rightful nominees they are. MasterChef was shot beautifully. The mix of contestants, the drama that unfolded, the food that was cooked and the show in general was just winning. Loyiso’s show is sharp, intelligent, funny and brilliant. The mix of comedians who have joined Loyiso on screen works so well and the host himself is deserving of an Emmy and more.

On receiving news about the Emmy nomination, Pierre Cloete, M-Net‘s Channel Director, says that the International Emmy nomination for MasterChef South Africa Season 1 is a huge honour: “To have the international benchmark of TV award ceremonies recognize MasterChef South Africa Season 1 with a nomination for Best International Reality Series is not only an honour, but also a huge endorsement to all parties involved. We’d like to congratulate the series producers – Quizzical Pictures and Lucky Bean Media – for creating such a high quality series. We look forward to hearing the results of this prestigious nomination.”

“Late Nite News has become part of our national conversation. It has taught us to laugh at ourselves and see the truth through humour. I see LNN as an extension of our news service at eNCA and value the hard work and dedication from Loyiso Gola, Kagiso Lediga, Tamsin Andersson and the rest of the team.” said Patrick Conroy, eNCA Group Head of News.

Tamsin Andersson, Producer of LNN said that “It’s a great feeling to have this recognition. The LNN team has worked tirelessly and passionately on the show from the beginning and it is humbling and very exciting that the Emmy’s have given us a nod. Thank you to eNCA and for all the support”.

Big up to both productions. The 41st International Emmy® Awards will be held in New York City on the 25th of November. I WANT TO GO!

Continue reading “MasterChef SA, Late Nite with Loyiso Gola nominated for Emmys”

Full list of 2013 Emmy nominees

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series

Breaking Bad – Bryan Cranston as Walter White

Downton Abbey – Hugh Bonneville as Robert, Earl of Grantham

Homeland –Damian Lewis as Nicholas Brody

House Of Cards –Kevin Spacey as Francis Underwood

Mad Men – Jon Hamm as Don Draper

The Newsroom – Jeff Daniels as Will McAvoy

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series

Bates Motel – Vera Farmiga as Norma Bates

Downton Abbey – Michelle Dockery as Lady Mary Crawley

Homeland – Claire Danes as Carrie Mathison

House Of Cards – Robin Wright as Claire Underwood

Mad Men – Elisabeth Moss as Peggy Olson

Nashville – Connie Britton as Rayna James

Scandal – Kerry Washington as Olivia Pope

Continue reading “Full list of 2013 Emmy nominees”

2011 Primetime Emmy winners


Don’t you love the Emmys? Every more don’t you love the Dunphys from Modern Family? Well apparently the Emmy committee do… The cast and crew from Modern Family hit it big again at last night’s Emmy walking away with no less than three Emmy Awards. Other big winners saw Julianna Margulies win for her role in The Good Wife. Oscar winner Kate Winslet also scooped an Emmy for her role as Mildred Pierce in the movie of the same name. Check out a full list of winners below:

Lead Actress In A Comedy Series:

Melissa McCarthy as Molly Flynn- Mike & Molly

Lead Actor In A Comedy Series:

Jim Parsons as Sheldon Cooper- The Big Bang Theory

Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series:

Julie Bowen as Claire Dunphy- Modern Family

Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series:

Ty Burrell as Phil Dunphy- Modern Family

Comedy Series:

Modern Family-


Steve Levitan, Executive Producer;
Chris Lloyd, Executive Producer;
Jeff Morton, Co-Executive Producer;
Danny Zuker, Co-Executive Producer;
Dan O’Shannon, Co-Executive Producer;
Bill Wrubel, Co-Executive Producer;
Paul Corrigan, Co-Executive Producer;
Brad Walsh, Co-Executive Producer;
Ilana Wernick, Co-Executive Producer;
Jeffrey Richman, Co-Executive Producer;
Abraham Higginbotham, Co-Executive Producer


Lead Actress In A Drama Series:

Julianna Margulies as Alicia Florrick- The Good Wife

Lead Actor In A Drama Series:

Kyle Chandler as Coach Eric Taylor- Friday Night Lights

Supporting Actress In A Drama Series:

Margo Martindale as Mags Bennett- Justified

Supporting Actor In A Drama Series:

Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister- Game Of Thrones

Drama Series:

Mad Men

Matthew Weiner, Executive Producer;
Scott Hornbacher, Executive Producer;
Andre Jacquemetton, Co-Executive Producer;
Maria Jacquemetton, Co-Executive Producer;
Dahvi Waller, Producer;
Jonathan Abrahams, Producer;
Dwayne Shattuck, Producer;
Blake McCormick, Producer

Lead Actress In A Miniseries Or A Movie:

Kate Winslet as Mildred Piece- Mildred Pierce

Lead Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie:

Barry Pepper as Bobby Kennedy- The Kennedys

Supporting Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie:

Guy Pearce as Monty Beragon- Mildred Pearce

Supporting Actress In A Miniseries Or A Movie:

Maggie Smith as Dowager Countess of Grantham Violet- Downton Abbey (Masterpiece)

Miniseries or Movie:

Downton Abbey (Masterpiece)


Gareth Neame, Executive Producer; Rebecca Eaton, Executive Producer; Julian Fellowes, Executive Producer; Nigel Marchant, Producer; Liz Trubridge, Series Producer

Variety, Music Or Comedy Series:

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart

Comedy Central

Jon Stewart, Executive Producer/Host;
Rory Albanese, Executive Producer;
Josh Lieb, Executive Producer;
Kahane Cooperman, Co-Executive Producer;
Steve Bodow, Co-Executive Producer;
Jennifer Flanz, Co-Executive Producer;
Jim Margolis, Co-Executive Producer;
Pamela DePace, Supervising Producer;
Hillary Kun, Supervising Producer;
Adam Lowitt, Supervising Producer;
Jill Katz, Producer

Reality – Competition Program:

The Amazing Race


Bertram van Munster, Executive Producer; Elise Doganieri, Executive Producer; Jerry Bruckheimer, Executive Producer; Jonathan Littman, Executive Producer; Mark Vertullo, Executive Producer; Evan Weinstein, Co-Executive Producer; Dan Coffie, Co-Executive Producer; Giselle Parets, Supervising Producer; Michael Norton, Supervising Producer; Barry Hennessey, Supervising Producer; Matt Schmidt, Supervising Producer; Patrick Cariaga, Supervising Producer; Phil Keoghan, Supervising Producer; Michael Miller, Supervising Producer; Bob Parr, Senior Producer; Neil Jahss, Senior Producer


Host For A Reality Or Reality-Competition Program:

Jeff Probst as Host- Survivor