Watch Paramore’s Still Into You video

Paramore‘s new single, Still Into You dropped online this week. It’s taken off their self-titled album, which is out now available. Check out the video now.

RIP Etta James

The legendary and soulful star Etta James has died. The star passed away this morning following a long struggle with dementia, kidney problems and leukemia. She was 73. Messages of condolences have been pouring in from far and wide:

Black Eyed Peas star, said “Showing respect appreciation and love for all the wonderful music and joy #ettajames brought to the world…#ettajamesforever”

Jessica Alba said, “RIP #EttaJames u r a legend and 1 of my all time favs -thank you for giving us all the gift of song -what a voice!”

Hayley from Paramore, “#EttaJames, I will be forever grateful for your voice and your soul. Rest in peace.”


The President/ CEO of The Grammys, Neil Portnow also released the following statement:

“Three-time GRAMMY® winner and Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Etta James leaves behind a dynamic legacy spanning six decades. Her music knew no boundaries as she explored diverse genres including blues, soul, R&B, rock and roll, gospel and jazz. She will forever be remembered for her timeless ballad “At Last,” and a powerful voice that will echo around the world for generations to come. We extend our deepest sympathies to her family, friends, fans and all who have been stirred by her soulful songs and passion for music.

Neil Portnow
The Recording Academy®

May her star and her legacy continue to shine bright and her voice continue to inspire new and upcoming musicians. The music industry and the world has lost a true legend. Rest in Peace Etta James:




Muse wins Best Rock Album

Brit rockers won their first Grammy Award tonight in the Best Rock Album category. The album in question is called The Resistance. “Great, genuine surprise. It’s a great honour to be alongside so many great artists,” said the band’s front man Matt Bellamy. He also gave his pregnant girlfriend Kate Hudson a shout out too.

Mariah vs Paramore… who will top the charts?

Mariah Carey‘s “Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel” and Paramore‘s “Brand New Eyes” albums will go head to head this week on the charts, as both vie for the top spot. Top class in their own respective genres, as hugely popular on the pop scene, both are expected to shift more then 150 000 copies each. So the question is, who will be triumphant? You’ll remember Mariah’s album was pushed back because they wanted to finalise the album and its offerings… in my opinion, it’s because they knew the album wouldn’t do as well as Whitney Houston’s and Jay-Z’s! Now that both have reached number 1, Mariah is free to make her way to the top… but will she? Check out the first single’s from Mariah and Paramore and you decide… holler:

Mariah Carey: Obsessed:

Track listing:
1.Betcha Gon’ Know
2. “Obsessed”
3. H.A.T.E.U.”
4. Candy Bling
5. Ribbon
6. Inseparable
7. Standing O
8. It’s a Wrap
9. Up Out My Face
10. Up Out My Face
11. More Than Just Friends
12. The Impossible
13. The Impossible
14. Angel (The Prelude)
15. Angels Cry
16. Languishing (The Interlude)
17. I Want to Know What Love Is

Paramore- “Ignorance” music video:

1. Careful
2. Ignorance
3. Playing God
4. Brick by Boring Brick
5. Turn It Off
6. The Only Exception
7. Feeling Sorry
8. Looking Up
9. Where the Lines Overlap
10. Misguided Ghosts
11. All I Wanted

With Spring/Fall comes new music

And here’s what to expect in the next few months:

“Wait for Me” is Moby’s new album, which is going to be massive. The Album artwork is made up of drawings “animations” all done by Moby himself – it’s really cool. Now if you want to win a hamper, filled with the album, a cool bag, badges, a T-Shirt and of course the album, leave a comment below with your deets and why you want the prize. Only one up for grabs and to all my international readers, unfortunately this is only open to South African citizens. More on this album to follow in the weeks to come.

Fresh off their Teen Choice Award last weekend, Paramore return with their follow up to their sophomore album “Riot”. The first single ‘Ignorance’ is on radio .Album is due for release September 2009

MUSE! Their SA fan base exploded after the amazing 2008 Coke Fest performances. This is the first new material since that tour, so I reckon this is a big one to look out for.

Dancehall superstar, Sean Paul returns with another hit filled album, which features 20 Tracks. Loving the first single “So Fine” and here is the video:

The album drops at the end of this month

The lovely Erica Elle drops her album Studio 55 next week. The 5FM DJ and DJ in her own right is banging. This is a double album based on her radio show on 5FM, so it’s the Main Floor and the Dirty Basement discs. The
Main Floor is loosely devoted to house tunes while Dirty Basement takes its cue from more techno-orientated sounds. On the album, Erica says
“I believe that dancing is the expression of one’s soul and that music fuels it. This album is for the dance-addicted among us!”

So Spring and Summer in SA are going to be well cool, no doubt. For y’all in the Northern Hemisphere, you’ll have just as much fun… Music keeps me sane, calm, happy and centered. Let it do the same for you!